What States Ban Rottweilers?

What States Ban Rottweilers?

In the United States, there is no outright ban on owning Rottweilers at the state level. However, there are certain states that have implemented breed-specific legislation (BSL), which restricts or bans certain breeds, including Rottweilers. These laws aim to address concerns related to public safety and perceived dangerousness associated with specific dog breeds.

According to the first source, the following states have breed-specific legislation in place: Washington, Oregon, Montana, North Dakota, Wyoming, Nebraska, Kansas, Missouri, Arkansas, New Mexico, Louisiana, Wisconsin, Michigan, Indiana, West Virginia, Kentucky, Tennessee, Mississippi, Alabama, Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Maryland, Delaware, and Vermont. These states have specific laws that regulate the ownership and restrictions of Rottweilers. It is important to research and understand the specific regulations and requirements in your state before considering owning a Rottweiler.

Key Takeaways:

  • There are no states in the United States that ban Rottweilers outright.
  • However, certain states have implemented breed-specific legislation (BSL) that may restrict or regulate the ownership of Rottweilers.
  • It is crucial to research and understand the specific laws and regulations in your state before owning a Rottweiler.
  • Other factors such as city and housing authority restrictions should also be considered.
  • Breed-specific legislation aims to address concerns related to public safety and perceived dangerousness of specific dog breeds.

Breeds Targeted by Breed-Specific Legislation

Pit bulls, Rottweilers, and American Bulldogs are among the breeds that are commonly targeted by breed-specific legislation (BSL) in the United States. This legislation aims to regulate or ban certain breeds based on perceived danger.

Out of these breeds, pit bulls are the most heavily restricted or banned. They face breed-specific legislation in over 20 states including Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming.

It is important to note that the term “pit bull” encompasses several breeds, such as American Staffordshire Terriers, American Pit Bull Terriers, and Staffordshire Bull Terriers.

Breed-specific legislation aims to address concerns about dangerous dogs, but responsible ownership should be the focus rather than targeting specific breeds. Responsible owners can play a key role in preventing incidents and promoting safe interactions between dogs and the community.


While there are no states that outright ban Rottweilers, understanding the breed-specific legislation is crucial for responsible ownership. It’s important for potential owners or individuals planning to move to be aware of the restrictions and regulations at the state, city, and housing authority levels.

Certain cities and housing properties may have specific dog breed restrictions based on the perceived “dangerousness” of certain breeds, including Rottweilers. Therefore, it is essential to thoroughly check the pet policies, rules, and regulations of the desired location before making any decisions regarding Rottweiler ownership.

By being proactive and knowledgeable about Rottweiler laws, owners can ensure they are in compliance with any breed-specific legislation and also maintain a safe and harmonious living environment for their beloved pets and the community.

Source Links